What we’ve been doing

Homework, homework, homework. I should probably be working on some of it now, since I have a lot-and it’s all due tonight, but a girl’s gotta take a break. Poor Ian has been having homework struggles as well. He really struggles with math. Every year, I have talked to his teachers about getting extra help for him. Every teacher assures me that he is foing fine, and in the average. Well, I see how he struggles, and it doesn’t matter that he’s capable of doing it if he shuts down whenever something presents as difficult. His anxiety rules, and there isn’t the chance of him figuring it out. Finally, this school is going to get him extra help. And, last week he took the initiative to ask one of his teachers about the possibility of getting into a class that provides additional assistance. I’m so proud of him for taking that initiative.
Asa is wizzing through his homework, and blossoming socially. He has a friend that he wants to schedule a play date with. This is big considering he wouldn’t even talk to anyone (meaning he just would not talk–at all) until he entered kindergarten. And, this kid is getting handsomer and handsomer. It’s kinda heartbreaking. Both boys are little cuties, and as soon as we get their yearly pics taken care of I’ll post them for you to see. 
As far as the littlest one’s progress–baby Olly has made his/her presence known in the past couple of weeks. Chandra has been able to recognize a little something in there that intuition tells her is the baby. Now, it’s obvious to her, thought still very subtle. I can’t wait until I can feel the little one, too. It’s still exciting to know when the babe is moving. It will be great when all of us can interact with baby Olly. I was making a hat for a friend’s toddler. I told Asa and he says, “what about a hat for baby Olly?” Oh, this babe already has many hats made by me. Little Olly will probably end up with more hats than s/he ever has a chance to wear. 
Speaking of baby Olly–we had a moment where we felt we might need to change our name choices. In realizing that there are a decent amount of Olivers out there, we felt obligated to explore other name choices. But, to be honest–I don’t care about having an original name. I get the appeal of your child not having the same name as everyone else, but I don’t think it’s what makes him/her a unique person. I would rather name our child something that we love and is meaningful. Chandra is in agreement at this point. She has decided that it would be weird to choose another boy name at this point. Our baby has always been Olive or Oliver–years before we began trying to have a baby!
I will complete the rest of the post with pics

the boys had Friday off, so we carved some pumpkins

Chandra took me to get my ears pierced last weekend
We’ve been decorating with all kids of fun Halloween pretties.

Baby and Mama, awwww…..
10/18/11

this is a recording of the little one’s heartbeat–with some bonus kicks thrown in
–Amanda

About theowlandtheoctopusblog

A two momma family living in the NW.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment